calehawley

I Could Never Do What You Do

In Sales on June 20, 2016 at 5:15 pm

I hear this statement uttered often. When people ask what I do for a living, the reaction is often shock. It very well could be the fact that I do not come off as your typical salesman.

The funny thing is: I never wanted to be in sales, and if you ask me I’ll tell you, I don’t really feel like a salesman. I grew up envisioning salesmen to be that smarmy guy in the cheap suit, pencil thin mustache, and awful comb-over. I swore I’d never take the “tried and true” approach to sales, and I have by and large been successful at selling without having to be the “what’s it going to take” kind of sales guy.

To the original point. I call BS! I think that anyone can do what I do, and actually, most people do in fact “do what I do”. Sales is nothing more than trying to convince someone of something, mostly that hints are going to be OK. The L&D nurse that convinces a woman that they will get that baby out. The teacher that convinced the student that they can in fact so long division. Many people sell, it’s just not called sales. If you’re looking to change careers or maybe you are out of options, don’t run from sales. The principle are for the most part easy to pick up, and you don’t have to sacrifice your integrity or compromise your ethics to be successful at it. Just be yourself.

Leave a Reply

