calehawley

Expect Disappointment

In Communication, Personal Development, relationships on July 17, 2016 at 11:30 am

Expectactions are a funny thing. Several people expect the world of others. They expect them to act a certain way, dress a certain way, and return favors. I had a former employer tell me during an interview that I was never going to look as good to him as I did during the interview. Harsh, but true. His point was that if he lowered his expectations that he was seldom surprised with outcomes.

I’ve often told people a piece of advice that my church pastor passed on to the congregation during a wedding series: the one thing you should expect from anyone is disappointment. Again harsh, but true. When you expect to be disappointed you actually set others up to look like rock stars. 

I’m sometimes told that this is a cynical way to view the world, but it helps me keep my sanity. What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

