calehawley

Can’t Knock the Hustle

In Personal Development, Uncategorized on July 28, 2016 at 5:05 pm

My 11 year old daughter likes to ask my father about times when he had to get on to me as a kid. One day, she asked him this after playing a basketball game and a soccer game back-to-back. This particular soccer game, she felt like I pushed her too hard (I am also her soccer coach). My father gave her a quick story of a time when he had to get on to me and then informed her that there was one thing that he never had to correct me on: HUSTLE. This amazed her. “You mean after games you never had to ask him why he didn’t try harder,” she said. “Never,” he replied.

Was I the best athlete? No. And I certainly was not always the fastest or the biggest, or the strongest. I had a tremendous amount of heart. I could look other athletes in the eye and think, “you can’t beat me and you won’t beat me.” Did I lose? Absolutely, but when I did, the other guy had to work for it.

When you hustle, you don’t always have to be the best, you just have to hustle. When I coach kids in sports, I’d take a kid that hustles and wants to be there any day of the week over a kid with natural, God given talent.

Don’t get the word hustle twisted. These days, some see it in a negative light. As if the word means to steal something from you. I think that is brought about by those who have lost to someone that was not as skilled as they were. Hustle is just working hard.

Do you have the HUSTLE in you? If not, what can you do to develop that HUSTLE? Whatever it is, embrace it! Work hard at it! Go for broke! All in! HUSTLE! HUSTLE! HUSTLE!

Leave a Reply

