calehawley

You Gotta Have Faith

In Personal Development, relationships on August 4, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Faith is one of the more difficult concepts for me to deal with. I think it probably has to do with my controlling nature. In a few days, my daughter will move half way across the world to study abroad. The closer we get to her departure date, the more “real” it becomes to me.

Faith is really the only thing that I can have with regards to this situation. Faith that she will make it to her destination. Faith that she will enjoy her time abroad. Faith that she will pick up the language. Faith that her host family will live her as much as we do. Faith that God will provide for her. Faith….

Control really is like holding sand in your hands with your palms open and your fingers spread apart. Sure you can hold a certain amount, but most of it goes where it pleases. You just have to have faith that the sand will make it to a great destination.

I am faithful, but anxious at the same time. I know that she will live her home away from home. I know that her host family will take great care of her. But as a father, my stomach does still knot up a bit thinking about it. Faith….

Faith takes discipline. Faith in anything you do. As humans, we cannot control everything. We’ve gotta have faith. Faith in life. Faith in business. Faith in relationships. Faith in God. Faith…

Faith….

Leave a Reply

